Shabbat

Painting / Schilderij; Tel Aviv, Leonid Balaklav -2015-

No salt on the table, no candles and where is the candlestick? My new ‘girlfriend’ from the Bronx NY is telling me those attributes are essential for the Shabbat dinner. For me, participating for the first time in this religious ritual dinner, all I see, taste and observe is a new experience. So I am shaking, like a professional Shabbat dinner guest, a little smart-minded my head, because I don’t know anything, i know nothing.

Geen zout op tafel, geen kaarsjes, waar is de kandelaar, waar zijn de kaarsjes? Mijn nieuwe ‘vriendin’ uit de Bronx NY, is zo vriendelijk mij te attenderen op de ontbrekende attributen die noodzakelijk geacht worden voor een geslaagd Shabbat etentje. Voor mij, deelneemster aan een onbekend religieus ritueel, nieuwe info en dus schud ik, wijsneuzerig, lichtjes afkeurend mijn hoofd, want weet ik veel, ik weet helemaal niets.

Leave a comment